UKC

Green deal assessment?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
pasbury 18 Feb 2014
Has anyone here had a Green Deal Assessment?
Who did it? Was it expensive? Have you signed up for any improvements under the scheme?
pasbury 19 Feb 2014
In reply to tlm:

Thanks for that. The thing is I don't know anyone who's actually had an assessment and just wondering what personal experiences folk have had.
 LastBoyScout 19 Feb 2014
In reply to pasbury:

Closest I've come to it so far is modifying a software module to record whether certain home improvements were funded in whole or part by Green Deal.

Sadly, I'd done all those improvements to my house before Green Deal was dreamed up.
 climbingpixie 19 Feb 2014
In reply to pasbury:

I've never had one but I work in the industry. It's basically just an EPC with a questionnaire about your usage booked onto it.

Cost is between £90-110. What is it you want from the Green Deal Assessment? Is it for RHI or its it for energy saving measures?
 alexcollins123 19 Feb 2014
In reply to pasbury:

Before my parents had their solar panels fitted, they had to get an EPC - was paid for out of the money paid for the panels, but cost around £60-80. The house had recently been fitted with double glazing, is fully insulated in the cavity walls and has tonnes of insulation in the roofs so we scored about as highly for a 30's home could.

The guy suggested some other measures like underfloor insulation (only half the house currently has this). That would be stupidly expensive as the floors in the other half are solid concrete. He also suggested replacing the ~20 year old boiler, which my parents can't afford, and replacing all lighting with energy saving.