UKC

Deep Water Solo Advice

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Theo22 07 May 2014
Hello Fellow climbers,

I have been climbing for years and hold the SPA award, averaging S/VS. I am really keen to go deep water soloing. I have the ROCKFAX Guide book to deep water, but am calling on your help for specific climbs that match what I am searching for, as I am a newbie to DWS and many of you have a wealth of experience on personal climbs.

I am looking for a route in England (pref south not scotland)which is;

1. extremely juggy, lots of big holds for the hands, so that I can get a good practice before going for harder grades.
2. that is an easy -ish grade, for the above reason.
3. that is slightly overhanging, so that if I mess up i am unlikely to slide down the face/ hit rocks.

4. As my friend is a filmmaker, and wants to make a video about DWS and film me climbing, any locations that are really visually impressive is also really important, I would be happy to go for harder stuff and get wet a few times provided it is a bit juggy if the location looks incredible.

5. Additionally for this reason are there any sites you can think off where a cameraman can stand close by and film without having to climb?

A lot to ask for I know but I realize this is a community with a wealth of knowledge and I value immensely any suggestions.

Thanks!
 jt232 08 May 2014
In reply to Theo22:

http://www.ukclimbing.com/logbook/c.php?i=35091

I haven't climbed this myself but it sounds awesome and kind of what you are after!
In reply to jt232:

Pretty tricky to film, that one. I'd go with Mick's suggestion. There aren't a lot of S/VS DWS routes which are both safe and photogenic, for obvious reasons.

jcm
 Kevster 08 May 2014
In reply to johncoxmysteriously:

I'd go with magical mystery, but keep in mind easy=easy angle=things to hit on the way down. We took a non climbing friend on it, he swam a few sections but did fine with some common sense.