UKC

Good soft Peak HVSs

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Mr Fuller 27 Feb 2014
I'm pretty much fed up of this winter and am now looking at stuff I can do on rock this year. I've been climbing fairly comfortably on grit at VS for about two years and have got up one or two HVSs but feel like I'm miles away from being established at the grade. I've seen the recent 'great HVSs' discussion and los of the ones on the grit seem to be regarded as hard for the grade. I've been told that HVS is a very wide grade so don't really fancy finding myself on something that's pushing E1. So, any recommendations for good soft-touch HVSs in the Peak please (I'm better clued up on what's in Yorkshire). Steep stuff, cracks, loads of gear definitely preferred to slabs, crap gear. So far I've Tody's Wall, Chequer's Buttress, Agony Crack.
 ripper 27 Feb 2014
In reply to Mr Fuller:

Knight's Move, Burbage North?
oh, and TPS, obviously...
 maybe_si 27 Feb 2014
In reply to Mr Fuller:

Queersville is ace
 Hat Dude 27 Feb 2014
In reply to Mr Fuller:

Croton Oil is straightforward and very good
Bond Street, easy enough if you can jam.
Leaning Butress Direct on Stanage, steep start then one stiffish pull higher up
 galpinos 27 Feb 2014
In reply to Mr Fuller:

The classics are Lancashire Wall and Knights move but both are VS 5a in my opinion.

Agony Crack was mentioned but that is VS 5a.
In reply to Mr Fuller:

>Chequer's Buttress

Really? It was E1 when I did it and that didn't seem absurd. Unless you're tall it's unlikely to go well if you're just starting at HVS, I'd suggest.

jcm
 cem 27 Feb 2014
In reply to Mr Fuller:

Off the top of my head:

Lyons Corner House at Millstone
Bamford Rib at Bamford
 CurlyStevo 27 Feb 2014
In reply to Mr Fuller:

Pebbledash at the roaches and Mississipi Varient at stanage are the softest grit HVS climbs I've done, much easier than some of the really stiff VS's IMO.
 Jon Stewart 27 Feb 2014
In reply to Mr Fuller: