UKC

Truing a wheel

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 TobyA 28 Sep 2023

I know there are loads of videos and website guides on how to do this, this is more a "has anyone else tried doing this as a complete beginner and had reasonably successful results?" sort of request.

I've got Hunt 4 Season Gravel wheels and they've been fantastic over the last three years, super reliable after about 10k kms on them, strong even when I've ridden rather more MTB terrain on the bike than its designed for, and until very recently have stayed true. But the front definitely has a bend in it now and I think it might be slightly distorting the brake rotor as I'm getting very slight brake rubbing noises which I've not had before.

I've had to twice take the bike in to a bike mechanic this year for jobs I couldn't do myself, something I've not needed to do in decades, so I sort of think I should try and sort this one out myself if possible!

So are there any successful have-a-go bike wheel truing heroes out there who reckon I can probably do it?

scooba2cv 28 Sep 2023
In reply to TobyA:

For what it's worth and with no knowledge on how he did it my dad managed to true many a wheel when I was younger and "ghosting" your bike was the in thing to to do. (Countryside not public areas) all I remember is It came with lots of swearing and hard work, ultimately with the wheel never being completely true. I think YouTube videos will give you the best advice but ultimately I don't think it will ever end up properly "true" however you may make it straight enough to ride on for a while. 

Post edited at 23:41
 elsewhere 29 Sep 2023
In reply to TobyA:

The hub is a small solid lump of metal compared to the rim so I don't think a bent rim can distort a hub and therefore indirectly distort the rotor attached to the hub. Use  adjustable spanner to grip rotor and gently tweak back into shape.

Once rotor not rubbing, ignore kink in wheel