UKC

Bouldering fall tips

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
ashgirl91 24 Oct 2017
I'm pretty new to bouldering - only been climbing for about a year. However I feel like I have no idea how to fall off the wall. I can jump fine and therefore if I lose balance or feel my grip slipping or something which gives me a quarter of a second to react I can push myself away from the wall and land well. However I've had a couple of falls where I had a big foot slip on terrible hands and went so hard + fast I just couldn't do anything. Did this over the weekend from 4 meters up and sort of instinctually grabbed at a couple of sloper holds on the way down but couldn't do more than slap then as I slipped past. I'm sure I slowed my fall a bit but I still hit the mat badly, nearly kneed myself in the face and gave myself really minor whiplash.

Is there anything you can do when you fall suddenly to keep yourself safe on impact? Is it just a case of experience as I felt like I went onto complete autopilot?

Jumping is easy to practice but I bad falls happen so rarely (for me...) that I feel like I'm not going to develop an instinctual feel for anything...
 trouserburp 24 Oct 2017
In reply to ashgirl91:

Wouldn't worry about slowing yourself down, focus on hitting the mat, on your feet, bendy knees
Good spotters invaluable

You can envision the potential falls before committing to the crux but that might not be the most positive headspace

Worst bouldering injury I had was from about a foot off the floor
 Greasy Prusiks 24 Oct 2017
In reply to ashgirl91:

Definitely don't try and grab anything on the way down. It won't really slow you down and both pulls you into the wall and risks hurting arms and shoulders etc.

Are you talking about indoors or outdoors?
In reply to ashgirl91: