UKC

Oltra Finale

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Exocet 14 Jan 2018

Anybody been to Oltra Finale and got any tips about rock quality and style of climbing, best time to go, best crags in this huge area?

nikkormat 15 Jan 2018
In reply to Exocet:

I climbed at Oltrefinale for three consecutive Christmas breaks. Even in December/January, the temperatures in the sun are fine; in the shade it can be cold. I have no experience there at other times of the year.

I'm afraid I can't give good advice on areas as I can't remember most of the names, but most crags should have something to offer in the 6b-7b range. Red Up has good stuff, I remember, including harder lines on tufas, and Euskal-Colosseo was also good. Bausu felt easier for the grade, but was beautiful. The local guidebook is worth the cash, and there is an older pdf guide somewhere online.

Post edited at 08:54
In reply to Exocet:

I've been in/around March over the past few years. Grade-wise the standard definitely tends to be best in/around the 6&7 mark, with sectors being both in/out of the shade (depending on the time of year). March has always been quite nice, with it being sunny/warm (a welcome relief from life back in the UK), but equally shade being there if you need it.

Terminal Area Crags is essentially the 'go-to' area, with the namesake 'Terminal' being the jewel in the crown and Erboristeria (right and left) both having a plethora of three star classics. Other more esoteric venues such as Red Up are well worth a visit, although it does depend on the grade you're climbing (Bob (7b), the crag's classic 7b, is worth travelling for - it's amazing). 

Elsewhere the Colletta Crags (such as Colletta Crags and  Bausu Crags also offer a good spread of routes, with a lot in/around the 7a grade.

Hope that's of use for now. Sorry if the grading is a little out on what you're after, but I figured I'd fire some info across from my own personal experience.

If you do go, enjoy