UKC

B3 boots suggestions... Helpppp 🥺

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Alexs403 14 Aug 2023

Hi guys and gals!

I am completely new to this world and need some help trying to find some mountaineering boots that are b3 rated. I'm going to be taking a course here in Iceland to be a glacier guide and one of the items on the gear list are fully stiff b3 boots. If anyone has some suggestions regarding different brands and models of boots in mens that would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks 🙏

In reply to Alexs403:

It's a very big investment and good fit and personal preference are massive factors. Finding a good boot supplier and trying some on is the only sensible option. 

VictorM 14 Aug 2023
In reply to Alexs403:

I'm wondering what the reason for b3 boots on the gear list is - do they expect you to advance into ice climbing or steep snow as well? 

A good comfy b2 would be able to do almost anything a b3 could, while being much more comfortable to hike in. 

That said, boot fit is highly personal and good b3 models are far from cheap so I'd try and find a store with a good selection and just try a bunch on. Nowadays it's almost impossible to find a bad boot in the category so it's mostly down to budget and fit anyway. I'm a big fan of the La Sportiva Nepal Cube but your experience might be totally different. 

SouthernSteve 14 Aug 2023
In reply to Alexs403:

They traditionally come in 2 extremes with models in-between. Light quite technical, but not warm versus chunkier more insulated lumps of boot. Ron Rees Davies' comment above about trying them on in a shop with experienced staff is spot on!

Knowing the types of crampons you will be using is useful - you may need an asymmetric bar for some crampon/boot combinations for a good fit, but I think most boots will take a rapid binding these days.

Will be a very expensive mistake to find that they blister you. Generally these boots don't break in, they fit or break you.