UKC

Thermarest Neoair Xtherm Noise

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
bigdelboy 23 Jan 2013
Considering buying one of these as they are very light and pack very small, though I have no experience with one.
I've heard they are very noisy? Seems daft to me to have a sleeping mat that might wake you up?!
Any experiences shared would be great before I spend £130 on a crisp packet!!
 HarryB 23 Jan 2013
In reply to bigdelboy:

I find it barely noticeable in mine, I think it was a much bigger issue with the original neoair.
bigdelboy 23 Jan 2013
In reply to HarryB: Thanks, that's the answer I was hoping for!
 KiwiPrincess 23 Jan 2013
In reply to bigdelboy:
Once you are on them there is no noise as the Pressure Is firm, only when you touch them in the shop. So comfy! no regrets here.
needvert 23 Jan 2013
In reply to bigdelboy:

me nor partner notice noise.
 peas65 23 Jan 2013
In reply to bigdelboy:

Are you using it for winter camping? If not i have an expel syn mat ultralight which i would recommend, much cheaper that the neo air mats, makes little noise and is very comfy and packs as small.
 NottsRich 24 Jan 2013
In reply to peas65: How long have you had the Exped mat? I'm tempted, but curious as to how long they last for (inside a tent or bivvy bag). It's either that, or the best foam mat I can find. I'm 50/50 at the moment.
 CarolineMc 24 Jan 2013
In reply to NottsRich: go for the exped. No contest. Slightly heavier but robust and much quieter than the neoairs. Had mine for 4 years when valve gave up... it was replaced no question. Now kn year 3 of the replacement and it's cracking. Gets used a lot too. Co:
ice.solo 24 Jan 2013
In reply to CarolineMc:
> (In reply to NottsRich) go for the exped. No contest. Slightly heavier but robust and much quieter than the neoairs. Had mine for 4 years when valve gave up... it was replaced no question. Now kn year 3 of the replacement and it's cracking. Gets used a lot too. Co:

this.