UKC

Trail runners vs hiking boots

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
momohikes 12 Jan 2018

Hey all,

I picked up multi day hiking last year. Been on 2 trips so far. After much research I decided to go for trail runners instead of heavier hiking boots (La Sportiva Crossover 2.0 gtx). Read a lot of articles out there on the merits of trail runners vs boots but none seem to address the impact of overall weight on choice of footwear.

We don't do very technical trails BUT I do carry heavy loads, typically around 35kg. I weigh in at 95kg and we tend do cover 20-30km per day. I realized on my last trip that my trail runners were starting to reach their limits, twisted my ankle a couple times, slipped, etc..

Given the weight and the miles we cover each day, do you think it's sensible for me to switch over to a mid boot?

I have no experience with hiking boots so not sure how much more tiring/cumbersome our hikes will become if I leave my trail runners behind.

I've been recommended something like a Sportiva TX4 or Trango TRK GTX.

Any thoughts appreciated

Thanks

GrahamD 12 Jan 2018
In reply to momohikes:

This is a very personal call.  I couldn't even contemplate carrying any load without a fully supportive boot (because ankles are weak and I've been over on them too many times to risk it) but others prefer lighter but less supportive options. 

nufkin 12 Jan 2018
In reply to momohikes:

> I have no experience with hiking boots so not sure how much more tiring/cumbersome our hikes will become if I leave my trail runners behind.

i'm sure you'd cope, but longer distances are bound to be less unpleasant in lighter shoes. Have you considered walking poles for extra support on tricky/steep bits? And maybe it'd be worth focussing on reducing the weight you're carrying, if you can - 35kg seems like a lot

In reply to momohikes: