UKC

eating dinner alone, edinburgh city centre - ideas?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 goosebump 07 Jan 2013
I was a student in Edinburgh, but that was ages ago and I have no idea where would be good for a spot of dinner on ma todd whilst in the city for work. I like most food but no crap, prefer reading a book in the company of strangers to actually talking, and am staying at the Haymarket end of things (plan on wandering hither and thither down memory lane though). Where is good these days?
 Mike-W-99 07 Jan 2013
In reply to goosebump:
Some good sushi at haymarket. The off licence down the road (Apellation Wines) has a few seats and free wifi, the owner is a former colleague of mine who made his hobby a career!

Illegal Jacks on Lothian road serves big if not visually attractive burritos amongst other things. Theres also a new pub nearby (Hanging Bat) that is apparently very good and does food. I keep meaning to have a look as its 2 mins from my work.
 another_mark 07 Jan 2013
In reply to goosebump: Is this not another dating thread then?
 Milesy 07 Jan 2013
The Edinburgh Mother India's Cafe.
 joeldering 07 Jan 2013
In reply to Milesy:
I went to the Mother India's Cafe in Glasgow and it was absolutely amazing. The food was fantastic and pretty cheap!
Gone for good 07 Jan 2013
In reply to Milesy: Dunno about Edinburgh but the one in Glasgow in the West End is magnificent! (Kelvingrove)
 Milesy 07 Jan 2013
Yeah I could eat out the Glasgow one every single day of the week and never get sick of it. It is by a long way my favourite restaurant. I regularly drive the 30 miles round trip from my house just for a take away as well. It takes away really well and heats up just a fresh.
In reply to goosebump:
There are 3 Michelin stared restaurants in Edinburgh so I'd choose one of them.
 tony 08 Jan 2013
In reply to goosebump: