UKC

Stone Farm Rocks

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
MaxDickson 28 May 2020

I’m quite new to climbing, and completely new to outdoor climbing. I was thinking of maybe going to Stone Farm Rocks soon, as it seems to be good for beginners. Would I need a mat for bouldering? It might be a stupid question but I’m completely new to outdoor climbing so I really have no idea.

Sorry if I’m just being completely dense.

rjwlkr 28 May 2020
In reply to MaxDickson:

Completely reasonable question. Yes you do want a bouldering mat. Your ankles and the ground will thank you.

If you're going to Stone Farm at the minute be aware that it'll be reasonably busy and pay attention to the parking guidance in this article: https://www.ukclimbing.com/news/2020/05/climbing_hotspots_to_avoid_in_engla...

The sandstone is also pretty soft so I'd also check out the southern sandstone guidance to avoid damaging it. (Loosely: don't climb in dirty shoes, don't use a brush, keep chalk to a minimum)

//www.southernsandstoneclimbs.co.uk/p/code-of-practice.html?m=1

Have fun!

MaxDickson 28 May 2020

Thanks a lot man. I’ll be sure to be very careful to adhere to the regulations etc. Would you have any recommendations for mats by any chance?

Oceanrower 28 May 2020
In reply to MaxDickson:

> Thanks a lot man. I’ll be sure to be very careful to adhere to the regulations etc. Would you have any recommendations for mats by any chance?

The biggest, fattest, softest one you can afford...

deacondeacon 28 May 2020
In reply to Oceanrower:

Definitely not the softest one. Get the firmest one. 

rjwlkr 28 May 2020
In reply to MaxDickson:

Pretty much what oceanrower says (though yeah, not soft, it should be surprisingly firm). Depends how much you want to spend, how you want to store it (taco style like being stored opened out) and how you'll going to transport it (i.e. will it fit in your car).