UKC

Training for trad climbing off the crag

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 AeroPiper 03 Sep 2023

I have started climbing trad routes on lead about two years ago, but my progression has been fairly limited and I'm stuck at about 5.8 YDS (or HVS-5a I suppose), while I follow up to 5.10+ (f6b/c). The main obstacle is that I don't have regular and consistent opportunities to climb and progress (time available juggling work and family, regular partners and distance from climbing spots), so I was wondering if there is a way to train for trad leading making the most of indoor gyms and/or other training methods off the rock.

I do go once a week in the gym, but I don't find the climbing style there translates that much to trad routes on granite that I generally climb outdoor, nor I have much motivation and enjoyment climbing plastic.

Removed User 03 Sep 2023
 Emile.swain 03 Sep 2023
In reply to AeroPiper:

I’m no expert and only just climbong VS and am considering how I might prepare for hvs lead and 2nd Es more successfully. 

To that end when I boulder I always down climb, the aim being to help familiarise my body with the movements and help a bit with my endurance. 2-3hrs bouldering. 

I then also try to do more indoor Sport lead, again focusing on endurance which is my main weak point. I also practice falls when I can to help improve my mental state.

I have to admit that I really hate the gym and perhaps to really increase my endurance I need to suck it up and get a proper gym workout going. I just find it so boring. A friend recently introduced me to a bouldering exercise, 4 reps of 4 climbs of a single route continuously. 

I guess my advice is to leverage opportunity you can and use that to address what you perceive your weeknesses to be. 

Post edited at 21:16
 C Witter 03 Sep 2023
In reply to AeroPiper: