UKC

Hiking boot lacing help

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Alpha Juliet Charlie 15 Aug 2020

Hi. I’m new to climbing and scrambling but heading to North Wales in September with some more experienced friends. I have Salomon 4D womens hiking boots but my little toe is going numb even though I have loosened them up a bit. Someone suggested I look at a different lacing technique and was wondering if someone could point me in the right direction. I’d be really grateful! Thanks

Lankyman 15 Aug 2020
In reply to Alpha Juliet Charlie:

This is actually a very common problem among beginners. It's easily solved by having the affected toe amputated. Most experienced climbers get this done before it becomes an issue.

If your toe is going numb, is it being compressed? Are you getting blisters on it? If it's not being compressed, then there's something more complex going on, with some nerve issue.

One way of allowing the lower boot lacing to be looser, whilst still allowing a tight ankle cuff is to tie a surgeon's knot in the laces, as they transition to the ankle (i.e. above the last fixed lacing loops, below the hooks).

profitofdoom 15 Aug 2020

When my toes go numb in boots even though I've loosened the laces a bit, I then loosen the laces a bit more

GrahamD 15 Aug 2020

I guess the first question is do your boots fundamentally fit you ?  Secondly, how many pairs of socks do you wear ? finally, is there any particular terrain or temperature you notice the problem ?

Lankyman 15 Aug 2020
In reply to profitofdoom:

> When my toes go numb in boots even though I've loosened the laces a bit, I then loosen the laces a bit more

Amateurish. Getting the little pinkie whipped off is the pro way to go.

In reply to captain paranoia:

This is really helpful - thank you. I will give that a go. Not getting blisters and doesn’t feel like it’s rubbing - just goes numb!

Post edited at 22:30
In reply to GrahamD: