UKC

Recovering from Laser surgery on lower back L4/5

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Fazal Farooq 24 Dec 2019

HI, 

I have been climbing for quite a few years now, and in the last few years with several slipped discs in a condition called spinal stenosis. With the use of painkillers and sticking to climbs where I can control my movement on the wall as precisely, statically and carefully as possible. 

I had my operation carried out just under a week ago whereby, the procedure was called laser discectomy. 

I wanted to ask, what the best way would be to return to rock climbing, preferably bouldering or doing circuit training at the local wall. 

I have been rehabilitating the area every day with water based exercises, yoga/pilate type movements and with minimal impact light bodyweight training. I have regained decent mobility in lower body although, this is based on not doing anything hard and heavy. 

Any help and support will be greatly appreciated. 

I hope you have great holidays, a new year and have time to send a response. 

Regards,

Fazal

webbo 24 Dec 2019
In reply to Fazal Farooq:

Would you not be better asking your medical team for advice rather than random people on the internet.

OllyD 24 Dec 2019

A physio who knows about climbing is probably  best to talk to. If you can't find one who knows about climbing, when recovering from a spinal injury I used auto-belays alot, as they give a low impact fall. Ask a physio when getting going, when to start and how to warm up. Back pain can take a couple of days to appear, so use a bit of discipline/common sense and build up slowly

Andy Hardy 24 Dec 2019

Hi Fazal, I have a weak back (ancient L4/5 injury) so you have my sympathy - but it sounds like you could do yourself some mischief if you had a hard fall or even had to hold one. Get some proper medical advice and follow it (hunt around for a medic who climbs or has climbed if possible)

Best of luck with your recovery.