UKC

Walking Snowdon For The First Time

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Lbet 02 Apr 2023

Hi all 

We are two couples who will be walking Snowdon for the first time. So looking for advice on what path to take.  Myself and my husband do quite a bit of walking but the most challenging walk we did was cedar Idris in Snowdia last July. We found that ok ish but it was extremely hot so it was very hard work.  The other couple do no walking at all but are not unfit. So basically you could call us total beginners for a walk up Snowdon. Any advice on which path would be best for us would be very much appreciated. The trip is for my friends 50th birthday do hoping to make it pretty special if thst is at all possible.  Advice on parking would be good and anything else we need to know.

Thanks in advance.

Alex Riley 02 Apr 2023
In reply to Lbet:

The most straightforward way up in terms of walking and logistics way up is via the Llanberis path. You park at the Mountain Railway in Llanberis and the basically starts from there. It isn't the shortest, but is less steep than the other options.

Pick a cool day and you should be fine, just take it steady.

Martin Hore 02 Apr 2023
In reply to Alex Riley:

The Llanberis Path is certainly the easiest and safest for a novice team. It follows quite close to the mountain railway for most of the way so it isn't the most interesting for hill-walkers, but the other routes all involve some steeper terrain which might (or might not) prove a little daunting for your friends with no hill-walking experience at all. 

You pass several "stations" on the railway on the route (just platforms really). I'm not sure if you can hop on and off the train at any of these, but that might provide an option if the walk proved a bit too challenging. Someone on here may know the answer to that.