UKC

Winter mountaineering in Scotland

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 maddiechambers 01 Nov 2020

(This is my first time posting, so apologies if I'm not doing this correctly!)

I'm looking to get started climbing some munros in winter conditions, and I'm looking for some advice/answers to questions. 

- What rating should I go for for a winter boot for Scottish climates? B2 seems to be most common, and if so, has anyone got recommendations for boots that aren't super expensive (under £250...)?

- Advice on buying crampons, ice axes (are ice axes needed if I'm just getting into it?)

- Any good munros to start on? (I'm a pretty proficient hill-walker and can do grade 1/2 scrambles)

- Any books that I could also get information from?

- Literally any tips, for someone that climbs a lot of hills I feel very out my depth thinking about doing it in winter... 

Thank you in advance!! Appreciate any and every bit of advice  

wilkie14c 01 Nov 2020
In reply to maddiechambers:

Hi Maddie and welcome!

The best use of your cash right now, is book a few days on a winter walking course. You can learn all these winter things yourself but it takes a long time. You can bypass the hard work and buy the skills you need over a weekend or two. Wish I’d done a winter one, Did have a multi pitch climbing course a few years ago before venturing in the mountains, best money i’ve ever spent.

Mark Collins 01 Nov 2020

Hi,

These guys have loads of winter videos and hold courses mentioned above. Here's one about what boots:

youtube.com/watch?v=ulhbiKyn6vc&

SimonCRMC 01 Nov 2020
In reply to wilkie14c:

Hi Maddie