UKC

Camera shops

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 The Lemming 19 Oct 2006
Can anybody recomend any good camera shops with a good choice of lenses in Preston and Manchester?

Cheers
octopus 19 Oct 2006
In reply to The Lemming:
The `Internet` - not being sarcastic, really is best place !
Hardest part with this stuff is knowing what you want and how much you want to pay
OP The Lemming 19 Oct 2006
In reply to octopus:
> (In reply to The Lemming)
>
> Hardest part with this stuff is knowing what you want and how much you want to pay

That's my problem. I'm still new at all this and the sites that I visit have reviews geared up to for people who know what they are talking about. I went onto the Jessops site and found a bit that said if I needed advice that I should mail them. The reply was simply to go to a jessops store for advice. Not very helpful, especially as the two nearest stores do not have a wide range of lenses. They just want to sell me the Nikon 17-70 lens and nothing else. Not very good customer choice is it?

My only other option is to physically handle a lens and get some good lod fashioned customer service. Then bugger off and buy the lens on line
Muz 19 Oct 2006
In reply to The Lemming: Might be a bit of a trip, but Harrisons in Sheffield.
drew harrison 20 Oct 2006
In reply to The Lemming:

wilkinsons in st. georges centre can be quite good, but it really is a lottery whether you get an assistant who is nice (ei. doesn't just want to get money out of you, whilst making you feel like a remedial along the way). I have, very occasionally, had good service here.

But i've never had it at jessops on fishergate.
 sandywilson 20 Oct 2006
In reply to The Lemming: