UKC

Learning to read routes

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Reach>Talent 15 Mar 2008
I'm utterly rubbish at reading routes especially indoors; I tend to end up tying myself in knots or pulling a stupidly hard or off balance move when a simple one would have been fine. So how do I learn to plan my way up a route rather than resorting to brute force when I end up in a silly position?

Cheers

Mike
Bishop0151 15 Mar 2008
In reply to Reach>Talent: I'm new to climbing and this is something that I've been working on. Taking a break between climbs I use the time to look at the next route and try and plan my hand and feet moves. At least for the first half of the climb.

Watch better climbers, try to find someone who is climbing a little above your level, and see what you can pick up from how they approach it and how they move.

Go back to routes that you've already done and try and do them better, smoother.

Watch climbing videos, make your own. I've had a friend use his phone to film me when I've climbed (it's easier with bouldering), and probably learned more from being able to compare what i did wrong on a bad climb with what I did right when i succeeded on the same climb.

For what it's worth, this has been working for me.
OP Reach>Talent 15 Mar 2008
In reply to Bishop0151:
Unfortunately watching others climb routes doesn't really help me as I'm 6'7"ish I have to tackle climbs in a significantly different manner to most other climbers.
 orge 15 Mar 2008
In reply to Reach>Talent:
> (In reply to Bishop0151)
> Unfortunately watching others climb routes doesn't really help me as I'm 6'7"ish
Stop your whinging then!