UKC

Entry level fell races?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Tom Last 14 Jan 2013
Hello.

I would like to do a couple of fell races this year. Would like to do shorter ones probably, 10 mileish I guess. Ultimately hope to do Borrowdale in a year or two, so anything that could be used to qualify for that in future would be great.

I'm based in the southwest so Peak or Welsh borders would be good, maybe the Lakes? I'm not so bothered about southwest races as I want to actually get out on the hill, although I'll be doing the Five Tors on Bodmin soon, but that'll be the limit of my experience.

Any suggestions for sime entry level races or some that I could so to help me gain experience for future races with entry requirements?

I'm totally new to fell running so go easy!
Cheers,
Tom
 Mark Eddy 14 Jan 2013
In reply to Southern Man: My first race was the Burbage skyline. Think it's about 5 miles. Felt like a good place to start.
The FRA site may shed more light on that and other races.
Mark
 Banned User 77 14 Jan 2013
In reply to Southern Man: How far south west?

South wales have an active winter league.. I don't know many of their races but winter races tend (not always by a long way) to be short and marked out..

Check the Mercia fell runners site for the borders..

On the fellrunner.org.uk site there is a website.. PM = partially marked.. NS = nav skills required..

ABC refer to ammount of climbing.. S M L = short medium long..

so AL long and lots of climbing.. CL is a much flatter faster race..

for example. BM PM would be a fairly undulating.. marked out route..

OP Tom Last 14 Jan 2013
In reply to A Mountain Journey:

Hi Mark, thanks for that. Burbage sounds good. I'll look into the website, cheers.
OP Tom Last 14 Jan 2013
In reply to IainRUK:

Down in Cornwall Iain, so I'll need to travel a bit for any of them. Thanks that's really useful info regarding the acronyms. I'll check out Mercia fell runners. Thanks again.