UKC

Off Camera Flash Cord

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Onion 08 Mar 2013
Looking at buying an 'Off Camera Flash Cord' because i can't afford wireless ones at the moment and I'm relatively new to using flashes.

I thought I'd canvas opinion to find out what sort of length people think is best to go for. The options seem to be 0.6m, 0.9m 3m, 10m.

I think the cords under 1m are likely to be pretty useless at getting that off-camera look, so I'm leaning more towards a 3m or 10m but I don't want to buy something which is still too short or conversely so ridiculously long that it turns into a mass of spaghetti every time I get it out.

Any recommendations from people on here?
What Goes Up 08 Mar 2013
In reply to Onion: Wireless can be pretty cheap - unless you're really up against it you won't save much. I've got a couple of Yongnou triggers off ebay - cost me all of £20 (new) and work fine.

OP Onion 08 Mar 2013
In reply to What Goes Up:

Interesting, I hadn't realised they're so cheap. Are they TTL?

What Goes Up 08 Mar 2013
In reply to Onion: No, just manual, but I'm just about to upgrade to the new ETTL ones they've recently released which cost a princely £60 for the pair. Fraction of the price of PocketWizards, and generally acknowledged to be much better too.
 alex 08 Mar 2013
In reply to Onion:

also, most of the time you don't need ttl for off camera flash.
 steve taylor 08 Mar 2013
In reply to Onion:

search for item number 110837938400 on the well-known auction site - they work for me!

Fraser 08 Mar 2013
In reply to Onion:

I bought a pair of remote triggers for my Nikon for an off-camera workshop run recently by SeanB of this parish. They were only about £25 and work fine. He also strongly suggested (and I'd go along with it now) that you learn to use the flash(es) manually, so TTL can be ignored.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B002RD9GNA/ref=oh_details_o08_s00_i00?ie...
 Durbs 08 Mar 2013
In reply to Fraser: