UKC

multi pitch sport routes???

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Mr Boulder 31 Mar 2013
Right people, I am new to the North and climbing at the peak district and will travel to get to good crags. I and am looking to find some multi pitch sport routes?? I have found malham cove but I think it might be a bit out of my league at this stage but will definitely give it a go at some point. Does anyone have any recommendations of where offers good routes of this type?
In reply to Mr Boulder: There's not many sport venues in the UK in general when compared to the likes of Spain etc. there's even fewer tall sport venues!
In reply to Mr Boulder: The only UK crag with multi-pitch sport routes in the grade 6s is Cheddar Gorge, however access to them all is effectively banned until the Autumn.

Even then, there is only really one route that genuinely needs to be climbed in multiple pitches which is Castles Made of Sand - http://www.ukclimbing.com/news/item.php?id=27835
 Jon Stewart 31 Mar 2013
In reply to Mr Boulder:

If you're looking for multi-pitch climbing, then in the Peak, you're looking in the wrong place.

If you're looking for multi-pitch sport climbing, you're definitely looking in the wrong place.

My advice is to get to know the Peak for what it's got: some of the best bouldering and outcrop climbing anywhere. Plus a load of polished, chossy limestone which has a degree of charm, and a bunch of short sport routes above 7a, which in my limited experience of them are utterly mediocre. A place to go multi-pitch climbing it is not!
 Ian Parsons 31 Mar 2013