UKC

Bouldering around Sheffield, n00b wants advice!

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 cb_6 22 May 2013
I'm going to Sheffield this weekend and we'll be staying with my girlfriend's mum. I hadn't planned on climbing since my girlfriend isn't a climber (never climbed outdoors, climbed indoors with me a handful of times). She knows how much I enjoy my climbing though so she's suggested we climb, either at The Foundry or outdoors. It seems a crime to drive up to Sheffield from London just to climb at yet another indoor wall, I pull enough plastic as it is!

Thing is, I have no trad gear (or experience) so trad isn't an option, plus my girlfriend only knows how to belay a top rope climber. So that leaves bouldering. I've never really bouldered outdoors aside from a couple of problems on Sandstone, but my best sport grade outdoors was a F6b while my strongest indoor problem was V3 while I expect to onsight V1, maybe V2 on a good day. I'm looking for some easy bouldering for the two of us to check out, nothing highball or bold. I might be able to borrow a bouldering mat from a friend but there's a good chance I won't even have that. If it's a generally nice area for walking around that would be a bonus, so we could boulder for a bit and then walk for a few hours after. Forgive my ignorance, I'm totally inexperience to climbing in the Peaks, I'd just much rather get into the real outdoors and mess around on some grit rather than go to another indoor wall. What areas would suit me, and where could I find topographies for them?

Cheers!
In reply to cb_6:

Burbage South. Nice spot for a walk, loads of low grade problems. Happy days.
 GridNorth 22 May 2013
In reply to cb_6: Burbage is a good venue for soloing routes which are in the main not very high. The outlook is pleasant and access is easy.

By the way it's incorrect to call it "The Peaks",it's "The Peak", named after a tribe of ancient inhabitants and not a reference to multiple summits.