UKC

First time out - The Roaches

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
dm3lions 03 Jul 2013
Hi all,

I am new to climbing (5 months)and have been solely visiting my local climbing centre in Nottingham. I have read in a lot of places that it is vital to get out on rock as soon as possible though. I love camping in the Peak anyway so I have decided to get on it and go to the Roaches this weekend. My questions are:

What is the best first trad route at the Roaches?

Also, is there anywhere that people tend to do top roping? I know this is frowned upon on a lot of the better routes so I want to stay out of the way and not annoy anyone if possible. Any other advice or bouldering recommendations would also be most welcome.

Cheers, Dan
 Dave Garnett 03 Jul 2013
In reply to dm3lions:

It seems to be traditional for beginners to go to the right hand lower Tier area (Prow Cracks, Rocking Stone Gully and the like) but I always think this is a bit uninspiring. It also gets crowded. The main area on the Upper Tier is also going to be busy and I don't think it's ideal for beginners anyway (the routes are long and can be quite complicated for their grades).

Bit difficult to make recommendations without some idea of how you climb but why not go off to the Skyline to Alpha Buttress or Trio Buttress? Lots of easyish routes of different styles there, easy access and unlikely to be too busy.
 Ramblin dave 03 Jul 2013
In reply to dm3lions:
Inverted Staircase might be a good shout. Right Route (note: NOT Right Hand Route) might also be worth looking at. If you find those easy, Maud's Garden is a brilliant route, but the start is poorly protected so it'd be worth seeing how confident you are on rock first.