UKC

Pregnancy climbing, skiing and instructing

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
bumpy 08 Oct 2013
Hi,

Posting not on my normal login as not yet 12 weeks.
What are other peoples experiences of skiing particulary ski touring whilst pregnant? Will be 4-5 months when i intend to go.
Am pretty fit currently and still enjoying running, also intended on doing my winter ml this year, guess that may have to wait!

I also work as an instructor and would love to know other peoples experiences of when they were able to work until? And employers perspectives- currently freelance

Thanks a bunch

p.s. couldnt post this in the correct forum due to being anonymous
 jussy 08 Oct 2013
In reply to bumpy:

Congratulations!

I don't have any personal experience ski touring pregnant but can say that lots of women manage to stay very active in the hills throughout their pregnancy. I was climbing up until 38 weeks and used a fulll body harness (I stopped leading pretty much at 8 weeks or so out of personal choice), and did lots of hiking until 41 weeks, including a walking holiday to the Pyrenees around 32 weeks when we were doing hilly 10-15km hikes each day...

Have a look at this:
http://intothemountains.com/2012/02/02/pregnancy-ski-touring-perspective/
 Carolyn 08 Oct 2013
In reply to bumpy:

Congratulations!

My pregnancies both fell earlier in the year, so only skied in very early pregnancy. I think the major issue is likely to be tiredness - I certainly found big days in the hills pretty tiring. Maybe depends if you're thinking of day trips or a multi day trip where you're committed to continuing?

No direct experience of what employers might think, I'm afraid. I was out on mountain rescue callouts until perhaps end of second trimester, but after that some team members started looking more concerned about me than about the casualty I was still hillwalking until the last few weeks, though.