UKC

Disc brakes overheating?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 ThunderCat 27 Jun 2015

I'm not in any way a serious biker - I'm the fat lad you usually see puffing away up a relatively easy hill. I have very little mechanical knowledge about bikes - I can repair a puncture and I've only just worked out how to change spokes and get the rear cassette off.

I had an incident today. Went out with a few mates up to Mam Tor and went down Winnatts Pass. Didn't feel like I was going too fast...got behind a line of three cars so put the brakes on and kept a bit of distance...then the car in the front of the line slowed down (for no apparent reason that I could see), so I hit the brakes...car kept slowing, so I had to keep brakes on...and then the brakes just seemed to slowly stop working, as if I was releasing the pressure on the brake levers. Panic kicked in a bit, so tried to hit the brakes harder, but nothing happened.

No room to undertake the car in front, no room to overtake (there was a motorbike coming up the pass, which is the only reason I can think the car in the front of the line slowed down - maybe thought it was a tighter squeeze than it actually was). Bit of a panic, ended up squeezing both brakes as tight as I could and slamming my feet against the road to try and get any sort of stopping power. Thought I would either have to run off into the verge on the inside or hit the back of the car and hope for the best.

Luckily the line of cars in front picked up enough speed (and my foot on the road slowed me down enough) to give enough space to avoid any mishap.

Really strong smell of burning...mate behind noticed it as well. Brake discs were too hot to touch at the bottom. Slight discolouration of the discs now as well.

So have I knackered the brakes? Is this a common problem? I've not really had to use the brakes to that extent before.