UKC

Recovering photos

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Solsbury 15 Aug 2015
Hi, I am not very technically proficient but willing to have a go which is why I am in the predicament that I am now in.

Aprox 18months ago when faced with an ailing desktop I upgraded from Windows 7 to Windows 8. I did a backup to a external hard drive using Windows as suggested (as well as doing a copy of work documents phew)

I had struggled to make the jump to digital but had a used a borrowed copy of Lightroom 3 to download and manage what I had done.

I am now about to get a new desktop which has spurred me to try and access the photos-which I am completely unable to do.

Has anyone got any hints on how I can reinstate the backups or on how I can access the photos which do not seem to be stored as jpegs only as Lightroom files-lrdata or preview files. I do have the original lightroom program. Obviously if this could be done as a single operation that would be great.

Any suggestions most gratefully received.

Many thanks

Rich
In reply to Solsbury:
Sounds like you do not have a backup of the photos. If they are on the external hdd then the files will be clearly visible.

If backed up by windows, then there is (v7 anyway) an option in the back up program to restore from backup. That would mean just connect the external hdd and go to the backup program and click restore files. However, I am bit lost with what you are saying, so I wouldn't just jump to that until further things are established first as further clarification is needed of what you are trying to achieve.

What do you mean by reinstate - do you mean restore photos to internal hdd from external? If so why? Where are you trying to retore to and why? (I read it that you don't have the new PC yet). Do you not still have the originals on the PC? If so are you just testing the integrity of the backup before you go to the new PC?