UKC

minor(ish) sprained ankle

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
thecliff 20 Aug 2016
Hi there, I am kind of new to the sport, loving every minute!

I sprained my ankle 4 days ago landing on it badly. I can walk on it fine, it's just a bit swollen and twisting it is a bit painful. I'm really keen to get back on the wall, any idea how long I could wait? I feel I could go and do some easy routes with my splint on, I read that's possible.
 slab_happy 21 Aug 2016
In reply to thecliff:

If you can fit the splint into a climbing shoe (there are some football ankle braces that work well for this, or taping arrangements) and avoid doing anything that might damage the ligaments further while they're still healing, you're good to go.

So, no impacts (or any movements that cause actual pain) until your ankle's feeling solid and ready to handle it again. You have to play it by ear and listen to your body.

At first, you might need to stick to top-roping, if you're doing routes. I was solely a boulderer (and also very new to the sport) when I first sprained an ankle, and ended up spending some time just doing hard sit-starts then stepping down off the problem as soon as I was a foot or two above the ground -- it was frustrating, but as a result I got a lot stronger and my technique for sit starts got way better fast.

The big danger with ankle sprains is that they can leave your ankle weaker and more likely to be sprained again in future.

Google "ankle sprain rehab" and start doing the exercises religiously (whatever you can do without pain -- discomfort's okay, pain is bad -- then build it up over time as your ankle can handle more).

Good wishes for a speedy and uncomplicated recovery!
Rigid Raider 21 Aug 2016
In reply to thecliff: