UKC

Experience needed for Grade 3 Scrambles

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 O'Donopoo 27 Jan 2017
Right, I have done several scrambles in Snowdonia in both summer and winter conditions. I have also done plenty of climbing and have enough experience with trad that I feel confident placing protection. I am looking at moving on to grade 3 and hoping to do Pinnacle Ridge (conditions dependant) I have no experience of grade 3 scrambles but some lower grade stuff. My navigation is good and I can climb trad. I have looked at the route and photos online and think I would be fine with it but obviously it's very different when you're actually out there. Just wondering whether people think I would be alright. I feel confident with my abilities but confidence can be misplaced
 jonnie3430 27 Jan 2017
In reply to todonoghue:
Have a go, but as you've said, you are confident now, that often goes on the way in, at the base, or at leg breaking height and above. Because of this, always remember that you can turn round at any point and back off, just go somewhere else instead and put it down to experience, which is what most people have bucket loads of who are doing these things smoothly and simply every day.

In order to get that experience they have been lucky, or just had a go.

Enjoy, the first steps are some of the best!

Edit: stickies make a great backup, even if you want to do it in big boots.
Post edited at 18:48
 jezb1 27 Jan 2017
In reply to todonoghue:

It sounds like you'd be fine giving it a go, if you've already got some trad experience.

There are some different techniques to speed things up, over just pitching stuff like a normal rock climbing.

If in doubt many people run advanced scrambling courses, like me...! http://www.jbmountainskills.co.uk
OP O'Donopoo 27 Jan 2017
In reply to jezb1: