UKC

Indoor walls - Heights & rope lengths

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Andrew Kin 30 Mar 2017
This is a pretty basic question based on something I presume a lot of newcomers to the sport go through but it just doesn't seem to be a subject which is broached.

How the hell do you know if your own rope is going to be long enough?

For example, I was at Ratho on sunday for a little wind down treat for my daughter. I know the big wall is 30m and you use the in situ rope for top roping. There is also a sign at the bottom of the wall saying 60m rope must be used for leading this wall. Anyhow I have a 50m rope which is more than adequate for most walls we use. I may look like a total novice in my trackie bottoms and trainers but I have belayed my daughter 1000's of times and would never put her life at risk.

Anyhow, I look around. No sign of estimated heights. No mention of suggested rope lengths like the 30m wall. I go and speak to an instructor. He looks at me and informs me that only a 60m rope will do.

But not all the walls are 30m? I don't mind paying for a rope if its necessary but are you sure? Yep

So I start making the long walk up to purchase a rope at considerable expense. Whilst making the journey I chance by another instructor. I ask him the same question and he points to the signs for the 30m wall but then states that a 50m is fine for everything else. And to bare in mind any traverse etc in any climbs.

So I go to the wall to the left of the comp wall and my daughter leads a 6c. Whilst doing so ANOTHER instructor comes over and tells me I have been told to use a 60m rope and in any case they want the end of the rope knotted (Fine by me - it was tied into the rope bag anyhow). Daughter leads this climb and comes down. The instructor watched and then commented her surprise that as my daughter was 2/3rds down the half way marker on the rope had only just come out of the rope bag. Meaning we used maybe 30-35m of a 50m rope.