UKC

Firefox problems

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 pec 22 Nov 2017
I've been using Firefox for the internet for a few years now but about a week ago it updated itself to a 'new look' version with some added features, I didn't select this, it just did it when I opened it.
I now find that it usually runs slower that it used to with delayed responses to commands and then starts freezing, initially for a few seconds but then for longer periods until eventually it freezes completely and I have to shut it down manually by going into task manager as it won't close just by clicking on the X.

Is this a known problem and any ideas how to fix it (not too technical please)?
At the moment I've reverted to MS Explorer but prefer Firefox.
Thanks.
 mattrm 22 Nov 2017
In reply to pec:

Firefox has been auto-updating for quite a few years before, you've just never noticed, as they've not normally made such large changes. It's up to v57 now. It's quite a large re-write behind the scenes, which is supposed to improve the speed of the browser.

I'd try re-installing it. Or re-creating your profile. Personally I've found it to be much better, but there we go.
In reply to pec:

What's wrong with Google Chrome? Opera is also very good.
 Welsh Kate 22 Nov 2017
In reply to mattrm:

Yeah, me too; the new version loaded up a couple of nights ago and my browsing's lightning fast now.
OP pec 22 Nov 2017
In reply to Gordon Stainforth:

> What's wrong with Google Chrome? Opera is also very good. >

Never really liked Chrome but the problem is lots of my preferences, passwords etc are automatically stored in Firefox after using it for so long and I've got a lot saved webpages saved in files in 'my documents' which now won't open properly.

Dave the Rave 22 Nov 2017
In reply to pec:

Speak Russian to it. It will draw a cock and bollox mid air for you.
OP pec 22 Nov 2017
In reply to mattrm: