UKC

Climbing shoe recommendations

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 apd 28 Dec 2017

Hello!

I need some new shoes after catapulting my old ones off St Bees, not a good day.

I have worn Evolv Shamans for about 5 years, they fit like a glove but they've stopped making the good orange ones. I think there's one more pair knocking about on the internet but I'm looking for other shoes that fit similar.

I have wide feet and mostly boulder so definitely need downturns preferably with the bump thing in the toe box.

Scarpa and Teniya (?! Not spelt like that) aren't great as they're too narrow and the heel is too high.

Anyone had any tries with the new Sportiva or Evolvs that have come out recently?

Cheers.
Post edited at 18:58
 bouldery bits 28 Dec 2017
In reply to apd:
Sorry to hear about the loss of your shoesm. Sportiva are significantly slimmer than the Scarpas in my experience.

Perhaps 5.10 Hiangles or blackwings perhaps?

I have little experience of Evolv so cannot help you there.
Post edited at 20:53
OP apd 28 Dec 2017
In reply to bouldery bits:

Hi,

Ooo never thought of 5.10s good idea! I will look into it!
 MonkeyPuzzle 28 Dec 2017
In reply to apd:

It must change model to model as I found eVolvs painfully narrow but much happier in Scarpas.
 Paul Hy 28 Dec 2017
In reply to apd:

have a look at the Andrea Boldrini's (spelling!!). i've heard they're are a wide fit. model Apache i think.
Tomtom 28 Dec 2017
In reply to apd:

IME scarpas fit a wide toe box, and narrow heel. Evolvs are a standard width. But that does vary model to model slightly.
Maybe look at the sportiva skwama, that's fairly wide.
In reply to apd:

I’ve got fairly hefty feet and I love solutions.

Got some skwamas to see what they where like and they are a lot narrower.

Definitely recommend solutions or miura vs!
 jezb1 29 Dec 2017
In reply to apd:

Well worth checking out HiAngles to see if they fit.
 DamonRoberts 29 Dec 2017
In reply to apd: