UKC

New to climbing

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Silverback38 16 Feb 2018

Hi,

I'm a qualified ML and have enjoyed indoor bouldering for some years. I would like to make the move to climbing outdoors but have a few issues...

1 - Don't have a permanent climbing partner, so I'm looking for someone who has the experience to either teach me/show me the ropes so to say and also who is willing to climb regularly with me

2 - Don't really know what equipment is 'Essential' equipment - (I know you need a rope!). I am a physics teacher so have an understanding of anchor points, forces etc. - I just need someone to help with this in context.

I have climbed outside once and have done 3 routes on stannage - I have a very limited, almost non-existent experience of climbing outdoors.

If anyone out there is looking for someone similar to me or is able and willing to help a brother out, I'd love to hear from you!

Oh, I do have a mate who has some experience who would also like to get involved (if that helps?)

Cheers

Dean 

GrahamD 16 Feb 2018
In reply to Silverback38:

You might want to fill out a profile ?

Personally I joined a local club and have been with them for 25 years now.

dr_botnik 17 Feb 2018

As the weather gets better I'm sure they'll be more folk out looking for easy days so worth keeping your eye on the forum here.

Might be worth going down your local wall to get climbing fitness back, I'd aim for more than once a week if you can, and preferably to a roped climbing wall as opposed to a bouldering wall.

Others have also recommended the courses at plas-y-brenan (sp?) so might be worth looking at their beginner options.