UKC

Nice / SE France - December

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 george327 20 Nov 2018

Hi,

I'm going to be heading out to Nice at the end of the week until Christmas. I was wondering if anyone had been there before during this period and could suggest what the climbing is like, can recommend any crags, or if its too cold to bother? Also if anyone is out there and wants a weekend climbing partner for sport/trad I would be keen.

Thanks

Adrien 20 Nov 2018
In reply to george327:

Hi George,

I've no direct experience but my understanding is conditions are primo in winter (providing it doesn't rain obviously) at crags like Castillon, Peillon, La Turbie... For partners try the Partenaires rocher section on camptocamp.

Are you bringing a trad rack? If the weather plays ball I'll head this way early December and would love to do a weekend climbing perfect cracks at Annot, where two racks of cams to #3 are the bare minimum! (Only have a single rack)

Climber_Bill 20 Nov 2018
In reply to george327:

This is one of the best times of the year to climb in the Cote D'Azur. A lot of the tufa may be wet or will be wet soon, but there are a lot of crags that will be dry and are in the sun for all or some of the day. I've climbed there in Oct, Nov and Dec and had some awesome conditions. It can rain for a day or so at a time, but then is dry for a while.

From my experience, there aren't that many British climbers in the area, but there are a lot of very keen locals. Perhaps check out the climbing walls and try and meet some.

I may be out in early December for a week. If so I'll give you a shout.

TJB.

tjekel 21 Nov 2018
In reply to george327:

Weather has been perfectly ok - we've been around the New year several times. La Turbie is reasonable in windy conditions, especially the crags down west. For multipitch where you might use gear, head to St. Jeannet main face.

SFrancis 21 Nov 2018
In reply to george327: