UKC

Which outdoors product should I improve?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Alex Edge 22 Jan 2022

I am a product design student and I need to re-design a product to improve it. 

Which climbing, walking or otherwise outdoor products under £30 needs the most improvement in your experience?

It could be electric or mechanical for example a belay device, compass, bike pump, headtorch.

Thanks for your time, I appreciate any help

(this is not for profit, its just a university project)

Stegosaur 22 Jan 2022
In reply to Alex Edge:

> Which climbing, walking or otherwise outdoor products under £30 needs the most improvement in your experience?

There have been a couple of innovative concepts around improving on the drawstring chalk bag closure system, with scope for more. The Arc'teryx aperture chalk bag twists down closed, while the Y&Y chalk stopper uses magnetic flaps.

Roberttaylor 22 Jan 2022
In reply to Alex Edge:

Clip sticks.

I don't know if you are a climber; if you're not, go along with some climbers to a sport climbing crag and find out what a clip stick is for. In particular need of improvement is the part that holds the gate of the karabiner open while clipping the bolt. 

AlanLittle 22 Jan 2022
In reply to Stegosaur:

Good point. I find twist closure chalk bags generally superior to drawstrings. And the Edelrid version better than the Arcteryx one - but not yet perfect. When my hands are really sweaty the closure fabric gets damp & gets in the way. And the velcro doesn't last forever, I'm on my second or third one.

Mike Nolan 22 Jan 2022
In reply to Roberttaylor:

Have you tried a Pongoose? They’re fantastic and a big improvement over the Beta stick. 

CantClimbTom 22 Jan 2022
In reply to Alex Edge:

Good design solves problems (and is elegant in all senses). Imposing design on things that don't need it is as often a mistake as it is a benefit and puts the cart in front on the horse.