UKC

Alternative to Leki Poles

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 ScraggyGoat 18 Jan 2024

My Leki Microvario Carbon poles, after limited use, are apparently irreparable (a combination of the stuck/collapsing button, and internal cord wear reported commonly on the web; so clearly a design flaw).  

Leki are not minded to replace, which is very disappointing given they were a premium product at a premium price.

Thus if you get no support buying top end, I may as well go cheap.

Are the decathlon poles any good; do they last?

What other short pack length & light poles do people recommend?

Inhambane 18 Jan 2024
In reply to ScraggyGoat:

I have a pair of the decathlon ones (foldable type) since August and have no complaints so far for weekend walking in bogs.  I am new to poles so can't compare to the premium models.  They seem light enough and sturdy so far.  

Harry Jarvis 18 Jan 2024
In reply to ScraggyGoat:

Alpkit do a decent pair of lightweight compact poles:

https://alpkit.com/collections/walking-poles

I have a pair of the aluminium ones, and my wife has the slightly lighter carbon ones, and we are both happy with them. The difference in weight is negligible in the grand scheme of things. 

Annoyingly, they seem to be sold out ....

Post edited at 12:03
 Mark Stevenson 18 Jan 2024
In reply to ScraggyGoat:

Yes, great whilst they last... which they don't.

Absolutely dreadful design by Leki - they could have relatively easily made it possible to disassemble them and replace individual parts.

Had one break and got a replacement (split a pair with someone else in the same position) however my other original pole now has a tendency to collapse... 

Not entirely sure about what to replace them with though. 

Doug 18 Jan 2024
In reply to ScraggyGoat:

I've a pair from Decathlon which are very similar, & possibly the same, as https://www.decathlon.fr/p/1-baton-reglage-rapide-et-precis-de-randonnee-mt...