UKC

Student project for hikers: solar-powered phone charger

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Immy 19 Jan 2024

Hi everyone,

My name is Immy and I am an IB DP design student (equivalent to A-level design technology) and an avid walker. For our major project (IA), I am planning on making a solar-powered phone charger for hikers and walkers. Currently, I am in the research stage and was wondering if I make this product it would be beneficial to hikers. I would really appreciate if you could take the time to share your thoughts!

Thank you!
Immy

Is this project beneficial/worth pursuing

Relevant to pursue as a project
Not viable
Login to vote
In reply to Immy:

Such things exist (market research phase of your project), so yes, it is viable. Given the increasing prevalence of electronic gizmos and multi-day activities, a source od power is needed. Solar might be a suitable source. You need to figure our use cases and alternatives, and how to make it practical.

Post edited at 09:19
 ianstevens 19 Jan 2024
In reply to Immy:

There a million such things already in existence. All are variations of the exact same tech. I think you'll struggle to do anything new here without some major battery or solar panel innovations.

wintertree 19 Jan 2024
In reply to Immy:

How about a charger that is a small box with two telescopic arms that strap around the upper and lower leg over trousers to generate power from the bending of the knee during walking?  This stands a chance of being useful in less sunny climes and the market isn’t saturated with them.

Simple concept, but making it comfortable and not annoying…. A worthy task!

NathanP 19 Jan 2024
In reply to Immy:

Having just had a quick look at what is on the market, I think there might be space for something new.