UKC

Yoga for complete beginner....

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Ardo 17 Mar 2019

Anybody got a recommendation for online yoga instruction for a novice?

Don't want to be tied to a time or location, at least until I possibly wish to advance my Yogi-ness. Thinking YouTube to start and take it from there, so I can fit it in around training and climbing.

tjdodd 17 Mar 2019
In reply to Ardo:

I have found Yoga for Climbers to be good (not done any other yoga so cannot compare to anything but it has certainly helped me)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4g2nLhg-tcM&list=PL4cAOe_EPeSU7MaWUWRdf...

kj001 17 Mar 2019
In reply to Ardo:

Search You Tube for ‘Yoga With Adriene’. She has a vast range of videos suitable for all standards and many different activities - running, climbing etc.

ianstevens 17 Mar 2019
In reply to kj001:

> Search You Tube for ‘Yoga With Adriene’. She has a vast range of videos suitable for all standards and many different activities - running, climbing etc.

seconded

slab_happy 17 Mar 2019
In reply to Ardo:

I like Jason Crandell's stuff, and he's got two short beginner's sequences (an "awakening" one and a "relaxing" one) on YouTube.

Once you get comfortable with those, there are a bunch of 20-30 minute classes  which are excellent.

BCT 17 Mar 2019
In reply to kj001:

As a yoga teacher I can't recommend Adriene enough. Great instruction, light hearted and easy to follow

Post edited at 16:27
 jasonC abroad 17 Mar 2019
In reply to Ardo:

I use this site a fair bit, they have a lot of classes at various levels/styles, plus programmes aimed at specific groups or you can just search for their classes which are aimed at beginners.  I started using this after I'd been doing yoga for a bit so I can't comment on how good learning online is.

https://www.doyogawithme.com/yoga-programs

Post edited at 17:47
 heleno 17 Mar 2019
In reply to jasonC abroad: