Milan Bouldering World Cup 2011 - Results and Video

The first round of the 2011 IFSC Bouldering World Cup took place on the 15-17 April in Milan, Italy. The event was attended by over 100 climbers representing 22 nations.

The men's event was won by Kilian Fischhuber from Austria and the women's event was won by Kim Jain from Korea.

Jon Partridge in the qualifiers at Milan 2011, 156 kb
Jon Partridge in the qualifiers at Milan 2011
© Diane Merrick Collection

Diane Merrick in the qualifiers at Milan 2011, 152 kb
Diane Merrick in the qualifiers at Milan 2011
© Diane Merrick Collection
Video coverage of the event can be seen at and the full results are at the base of this article.

GB Team Manager Nick Clement reports on the UK team members:

"GB Bouldering Team members Stewart Watson, Dave Barrans, Jon Partridge and Diane Merrick travelled to Milan, Spain to represent Great Britain.

In the qualification round Stewart Watson climbed exceptionally well and qualified for the semi-final in 7th place but, unfortunately, Stewart was forced to retire from the competition due to illness.

Jon completed two blocs, narrowly missed a third and finished 33rd overall. Dave and Diane finished 45th and 37th respectively.

The next event is being held in Log-Dragomer, Slovenia on the 7th and 8th of May and it will be attended by Stewart, Dave, Jon and Diane.

I would like to thank the Team's Clothing Sponsor Five Finger Thing and the BMCfor their continued support."

VIDEO: Milan 2011

Top Results Milan 2011

Boulder Men
1 Fischhuber Kilian 1983 AUT  4t9 4b5
2 Schubert Jakob 1990 AUT  3t3 3b3
3 Gelmanov Rustam 1987 RUS  3t6 3b6
4 Glairon Mondet Guillaume 1986 FRA  3t8 4b8
5 Sharafutdinov Dmitry 1986 RUS  3t11 4b12
6 Hori Tsukuru 1989 JPN  1t6 3b9

Boulder Women
1 Kim Jain 1988 KOR 3t5 3b4
2 Stöhr Anna 1988 AUT 2t4 4b7
3 Le Neve Melissa 1989 FRA 2t4 4b9
4 Noguchi Akiyo 1989 JPN 2t6 3b8
5 Markovic Mina 1987 SLO 5169 1t1 3b3
6 Puccio Alex 1989 USA 8654 1t6 4b9

Speed Men
1 Sinitsyn Sergey 1983 RUS
2 Vaitcekhovsky Evgenii 1986 RUS
3 Hroza Libor 1987 CZE
4 Swirk Lukasz 1985 POL

Speed Women
1 Alekseeva Kseniia 1987 RUS
2 Krasavina Maria 1990 RUS
3 Ropek Edyta 1979 POL
4 Buczek Klaudia 1991 POL

Forums 1 comments

This has been read 5,346 times
Return to News from April 2011