La Sportiva Legends Only 2013

by Björn Pohl - UKC Nov/2013
This news story has been read 14,095 times

Dmitry Sharafutdinov, La Sportiva Legends Only 2012, 115 kb
Dmitry Sharafutdinov, La Sportiva Legends Only 2012
© Lars Lindwall

30 November at 20.00 CET is the time, Klättercentret Telefonplan, Stockholm, Sweden is the place for the 3rd annual La Sportiva Legends Only invitational bouldering competition. This is the competition where only the best of the beasts are invited and this year is definitely no exception.

In 2011 we saw Adam Ondra win ahead of Dmitry Sharafutdinov and Daniel Woods, with Paul Robinson and Anthony Gullsten in 4th and 5th.

In 2012, Sean McColl won, Dmitry was once again in 2nd, Jakob Schubert 3rd, Guillaume Glairon-Mondet 4th and Adam Ondra in 5th. Probably the first and last time Adam finishing last in a climbing competition.

UPDATE 30th Nov: The comp will be broadcast here later today.

This year's line-up is perhaps more interesting than ever before:

Sean McColl, CAN
Last year's winner, Combined World Champion 2012

Dmitry Sharafutdinov, RUS
2nd in 2011 and 2012, triple World Champion, World Cup champion 2013, ranked #1. This year he has trained specifically for this.

James Webb, USA
Six 8B flashes this year, Winner of the Park City Psico bloc, Winner of the Portland Boulder Rally

Alexander Megos, GER
The first to onsight 9a, Winner of the Kalymnos Climbing Festival

Nalle Hukkataival, FIN
Winner of the Sisu Masters 2013, Winner of the Tierra Boulder Battle 2011, Climax Magazine's Boulderer of the year 2013, several 8C's to his name

Jan Hojer, GER
Winner of the Innsbruck WC 2013, 1-9 campuser, several 8C repeats.

So, as you can see, there are competition climbers vs specialists on rock and 80kg heavy weights vs sub 60kg feather weights

Sean McColl, winner of the La Sportiva Legends Only 2012, 135 kb
Sean McColl, winner of the La Sportiva Legends Only 2012
© Lars Lindwall

This is a redpoint competition, meaning the competitors have worked the four problems in the 8A+ - 8B+ range for a few hours 24h before the actual showdown. The rules are also different compared to a WC as the number of attempts are not as important.
Usually the result is decided by:
1. Number of Tops
2. Attempts on tops
3. Number of Bonuses
4. Attempts on Bonuses

In La Sportiva Legends Only, the order is instead 1 - 3 - 2 - 4, i.e "3 Tops + 1 Bonus" is always better than "3 Tops + 0 Bonus".

Guest route setter: Mélissa Le Nevé

MC:s: Said Belhaj and Matilda Söderlund

DJ:s: David Höglund and Laurent Lafouche

Special guest: John Ellison, CAC

Two weeks left means it's time to buy your ticket while there are any left!

For those of you who for various reasons are unable to attend the event, there will of course be a live feed. This year, Horizon will be producing and Dan Finn will be our commentator.

As always our friends from Sandstones Media will once again make an epic backstage video. Don't miss it!

Klättercentret and La Sportiva Legends Only supports CAC, Climbers Against Cancer, and there will be t-shirts and brand new 2014 calendars on sale.

The La Sportiva Legends Only is sponsored by: La Sportiva, Klättercentret, Petzl, C2 Vertical Safety, Entre-Prises, Fläkt Woods, Rokodromo, Psyco Art Holds, Aloma Naprapati, Bel-Air Limousine, Vitamin Well and Västervik Climbing

Forums ( Read more )
This has been read 14,095 times