UKC

Southern Sandstone, January, bad idea?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Raoul Fearnley 18 Jan 2020

I'm new to climbing outdoors and want to get started as soon as possible this year.

Based in London so Southern Sandstone seems to be the most easily accessible.

I'm aware that sandstone shouldn't be climbed if wet but unsure how to determine when conditions are good, is it enough to just check weather reports for a good period where it hasn't rained? e.g if it's been three days without rain it'll be ok, or is there more to consider?

two_tapirs 18 Jan 2020
In reply to Raoul Fearnley:

Southern sandstone needs to be really dry to ensure that you're not going to damage it.  3 days probably isn't enough at this time of year.

Give Bowles a ring, they're usually pretty helpful and honest about the state of the rock: https://bowles.rocks

Kudos to you for being considerate about the rock and not just turning up and climbing on it

In reply to two_tapirs:

Thank you for the link, i'll contact them before i head out.

deacondeacon 19 Jan 2020

I'd be surprised if there wasn't a local Facebook group that keeps an eye on conditions. Have a look on there. 

Trangia 19 Jan 2020

I haven't been there recently but I live in Sussex. The countryside is saturated from weeks of heavy rain, and it's going to take more than a few weeks to dry out properly, certainly more than 3 days, so my gut feeling is that the condition of the rocks is most unlikely to be suitable. It's been the same at this time of the year for the last decade or so, even longer. Whilst the surface may appear to be dry the underlying rock takes a long time to dry and remains vulnerable.

PaulJepson 19 Jan 2020
In reply to two_tapirs: