UKC

Clog Super 10 Screwgate - unable to undo fault?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 martinph78 01 Nov 2012
Hi all,

Anyone know of, or had a problem with the latest Clog Super 10 screwgates?

http://www.wildcountry.co.uk/products/clog-uk-only/super-11-osd-screwgate/

I have been using them for a few years with no bother, my friend bought one a while ago which has a different knurled screw as per the link above. Mine have a straight knurled barrel.

He bought two more last week and used them today and we couldn't undo them. Thankfully they had been on a larksfooted sling on this occassion and so we could retrive the sling until we got home and got the pliers out. Even then they were really, really tight.

It seems that they don't stop like the old ones do, and you can easily (I mean no effort/one handed) tighten them to a point where you can't undo them again.

It is certainly not his or my technique and I've never had the issue before.

Has anyone else heard of problems/had problems? They are going back for a refund/exchange tomorrow. Maybe it is a bad batch? Could have been a big problem/knife out job if we'd been hanging on a belay half way up a route.
 jkarran 01 Nov 2012
In reply to Martin1978:

Did you do them up under load then try to undo them once unloaded by any chance?

jk
 zebidee 01 Nov 2012
In reply to jkarran:
> (In reply to Martin1978)
>
> Did you do them up under load then try to undo them once unloaded by any chance?

Or screw them *all* the way up nice and tight?

jkarran 01 Nov 2012
In reply to zebidee:

In fairness I'd expect a screwgate done up tight to be equally tight when it comes to undoing it, not seized solid.

I find the nasty surprise usually comes when they've been loaded and jiggled with the nose down, the gate tightens itself then locks in place when the unloaded krab springs back into its normal shape.

jk
OP martinph78 01 Nov 2012