UKC

Micro cams

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Suncream 19 Jun 2020

I've been thinking about getting some micro cams for a while. Wild Country have just released the Zero Friends, and the DMM Dragonflies and BD Z4s have also come out recently. They'll all a pretty similar price, and since I'm probably not going to be playing with them in a shop any time, does anyone have experience with these models and opinions?

The Zeros are the smallest, the Dragonflies the cheapest and the Z4s have this rigidifying stem but no extendable sling. It really seems hard to know what I need and what I don't - I've never used micros before, only full sized cams, which in the small sizes I'm never too happy with in terms of how they sit.

lieraza 19 Jun 2020
In reply to Suncream:

I had the same decision to make recently, and came to the conclusion that they are all pretty similar. I think the green Dragonfly is the smallest cam available currently, unless you mean in terms of head width - maybe WC Zeros are narrower, I'm not sure.

I ended up going with the WC Zeros, mostly out of novelty value as other people I climb with have the DMM Dragonflies. I also liked that they have more metal in their construction. I haven't tried the Z4s but didn't really like the plasticy look of them.

There's a good thread with photos comparing the Zeros, Z4s, Aliens and Dragonflies (and probably more) here:

https://www.mountainproject.com/forum/topic/118029262/wild-country-zero-fri...

Post edited at 16:23
 Theo Moore 19 Jun 2020
In reply to Suncream:

This post has come at the perfect time. I'm in the process of writing a Micro Cams group test including the Dragonflies, Wild Country Zeros, BD Z4s and Metolius Master cams. It's a bit early for me to give any kind of verdict yet as I haven't had chance to use them all enough (thanks Covid + rain), but I can tell you for now that when I reviewed the Dragonflies I really liked them. Here's a link to that review: