UKC

No Edge

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 bouldery bits 17 Oct 2023

I have just received, in the post, a pair of La Sportiva Mantras.

This is a big departure for me, having previously had La Sportiva disasters - my foot shape did not fit my Solutions which i subsequently sold and a pair of La Sportiva fell shoes I had decided that they wanted eat my ankles. 

That said, my Mantras are looking positive. 

So, in short. Is anyone out there a no edge user and what are your thoughts?

(I ususally climb in Dragos / Veloces which I like. This purchase was prompted by me absolutely hating my new styles Instinct S which I have absolutely not got on with. Size 40 if any one wants to make an offer. Worn maybe 8 times?

misterb 17 Oct 2023
In reply to bouldery bits:

Really rather liked the futura, super indoor and on the grit, never wore it for much else though

HeMa 17 Oct 2023

I’ve been using no edge LaSpo shoes for quite a few years already. Mostly Speedsters and Maverinks, but also Futuras… even have a pair of people 510 Quantum’s resoled with no edge for harder sport climbs… that being said, I’m predominantly a boulder these days, and no edge works really well for it. At least on granite and sandstone. With regular soled shoes, I find that on smaller holds, they loose their optimal performance quite soon. So for me, no edge is also a cost thing… I get pretty much good performance from the start to when I’ve blown the sole, after which I send ‘em for a resole.

Moacs 17 Oct 2023

All my shoes are "no edge" after a depressingly short time

C Witter 18 Oct 2023