UKC

Gene Bank help

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.

Hi there,

I'm looking for some help to understand how to access and interpret certain genetic data from Genebank and I know there are a few biologists on here.

For context, I'm a maths teacher (who doesn't know much biology) with a student who wants to do a simple project looking at the relative frequency of codons in a gene - there is some (possibly crackpot) theory that the relative frequencies are related to the golden ratio.

However, biology is proving a little too messy for us. We have picked a gene and managed to download a massive sequence of A, C, T, G's but we're struggling to extract the sequence of codons that would actually be used to create amino acids.

I think we're struggling to identify the "reading frame"; or possibly we're reading the dictionary wrong and what I think are the codons for start and stop are actually not.

Anyway, we have written a little Python code that searches along the string, and snips out any substring that starts with a START codon, ends with STOP and has length a multiple of three. Unfortunately the gene we choose (LCT), which is massive, only seems to code for about 3 small proteins, so something seems to be wrong somewhere.

Any advice gratefully received.

Oli

cb294 23 Sep 2019
In reply to crossdressingrodney:

Which gene/accession number did you download? 

I assume you are trying to look at human lactase, which has several versions / isoforms.

Pick one, guess it does not matter which, and make sure you have the mRNA / cDNA sequence rather than the genomic one which will be split by introns.

E.g. going to pubmed.org, selecting nucleotide as search option, and entering lactase human, will get you as third hit

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/nuccore/NM_000404.4?report=genbank

Scroll down, and before the actual sequence you will find the annotation.