UKC

Thinking about buying a transit; what do I do?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
anonymous123 10 Feb 2018

I have no experience buying cars (haven't driven for long), but vanlife calls. I'm thinking MWB mid-high top transit. 3-5k£ <100,000 miles. Now I get that service history is more important than age or mileage, but that's about it... I'd be immensely grateful if some well-knowledged person would enlighten me on the details to be considered when buying such a van. If you already live in a van then bonus, tell me all about it. 

Oceanrower 11 Feb 2018
In reply to anonymous123:

The first thing you should think about doing when buying a Transit is, straight away, stop thinking about buying a Transit.

Instead, think about buying a Movano or a Sprinter or, or, or ANYTHING that doesn't rust as badly as a Transit!

anonymous123 11 Feb 2018
In reply to Oceanrower:

My budget is only 3-5k. I'd love a sprinter, believe me, but they're just too expensive! Transits are cheap at least. For the same price, a sprinter will be older and have many more miles, so not an option. Movano, haven't really considered before..

Post edited at 01:27
 Big Steve 11 Feb 2018

Have you looked at the Citroen Despatch? You can pick decent ones up easily in your price range. Good solid van, not that much smaller than the standard transit and can be found in a high top version

anonymous123 11 Feb 2018
In reply to Big Steve:

Aye, but it's too small. Plan on living in it for some time, so mid high top transit is about as small as I'd like to go. Cheers, tho. 

bensilvestre 11 Feb 2018