UKC

Is my partner unsafe?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.

Hey Climbers,

I am new to sport climbing after bouldering for more than 10 years. Today i went out for my 4th lead climbing session and 2nd with a climbing partner I met online. My first 2 sessions were with an instructor.

The guy I went with has more than 10 years experience so I thought that it would be a good fit with me being less experienced. But today somethings happened that made me question how safe we were being. As I am still unexperienced, I don't know how much I can read into these events so I would like to get some feedback from the community...

Top Rope Switching

I was at the top of a route having completed it on a top rope. My partner said that he would like me to set up a top rope on the route to the left, the anchor for that was only 3 meters away. I asked how I could do that as I don't have any quick draws. He said that I can attach my lanyard, remove the quick draws from the anchor and reach over and attach them to the other anchor. This seemed dangerous as I would only be attached on 1 point with my lanyard until I moved the anchor. I shouted that it didn't seem right and he said it was fine to do it. I said I was unhappy with that approach and I wont do it.

Instead I told him to lower me so I could retrieve the last 2 quick draws on the route. I climbed back up. Climbed across to the new anchor added the quick draws and clipped the rope. The rope now being in 2 anchors. I then climbed back to the original anchor, attached the lanyard so I could unclip the rope and retrieved the quick draws. Finally I removed my lanyard, climbed back to the second anchor and lowered.

What should I make of his suggestion?

What do you make of my practice?

Does it make sense to discuss rope work when on the top of a route? Or should that always be done before setting off?

Partner Check