UKC

Research into disordered eating in climbers

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 PilkingtonD 15 Jan 2023

Hello! Not sure if this was the right forum so please let me know if there is a more suitable one! My name is Dom and I’m a student at Plymouth Marjon University in my third year of studying Outdoor Adventure Education. For my dissertation I’m doing research into the prevalence of disordered eating in climbers in the UK, which is currently a very under-researched part of our community.

The survey takes about 3 minutes of your time and can be taken by anyone who climbs in the UK, regardless of eating habits.

If you have time, please complete the additional 2 minute EAT-26 questionnaire before the survey and note your score (more information can be found through the link) here: https://www.eat-26.com/eat-26/

The EAT-26 questionnaire is completely optional, and if you would not like to take it, please proceed straight to the survey link below.

If you have any questions please don’t hesitate to ask!

Thank you for your time!

https://forms.office.com/e/m2DKs8AiXj

profitofdoom 15 Jan 2023
In reply to PilkingtonD:

I did both

Good luck with your research

OP PilkingtonD 16 Jan 2023
In reply to profitofdoom:

Thank you for taking the time!

Martin Hore 16 Jan 2023
In reply to PilkingtonD:

Done both.

Why (oh why!) does a supposedly scientific study (the EAT - 26 survey) not accept my weight in kg? I had to go to a conversion table to calculate it in lbs.

Your own survey is nice and simple. One criticism: when asking for my "primary" climbing style (which is trad) it suggests "the style I spend most time on" (which is indoor - but that's just training for trad). So it was tricky for me to answer the question.

Good luck with the dissertation - an interesting topic.

Martin

climberchristy 16 Jan 2023
In reply to PilkingtonD:

Done both. Good luck with the research. 

DaveHK 16 Jan 2023
In reply to Martin Hore:

> Done both.