UKC

Beginner looking for first gear advice.

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
TheAntsAreBack 19 Oct 2019

Hello all, I imagine that this is not an uncommon question so apologies in advance for that. I'm brand new to climbing and am planning on learning the basics at my local climbing wall here in Stirling, Scotland. I'm looking at my first harness, shoes and belay device and I wondered if anyone can comment on a possible harness please?

In looking at the Simond Easy 3 from Decathlon. 

https://www.decathlon.co.uk/easy-3-climbing-harness-blue-id_8359998.html

This is only £30 but I have a question about the belay loop. I was taught to tie-in my rope through two loops of my harness when climbing but this just has a belay loop. Presumably it's all rated safe but could anyone reassure me that this design with one belay loop option is a good choice?

Whatever I buy I'll be using for short periods indoors rather than for charging up the Matterhorn. Thanks in advance. 

Mlewis 19 Oct 2019
In reply to TheAntsAreBack:

I recently started climbing, I found with a few items I needed to upgrade them once I started climbing outside. 

I think it depends on where you plan to go with your climbing. If you only want to climb indoors and don't  plan on getting into trad or sport a cheap harness like  that will do. Although I would spend an extra £10-20 and get something better. It should last you almost 5 years so it will be money well spent. 

springfall2008 19 Oct 2019

Good question, I'm sure the harnesss is safe and it's a single tie in, but I wouldn't buy it to be honest as it's a bit non-standard. I would want to avoid any complications when you start out.

If you want a cheap first set Go-Outdoors has a ClimbX Harness, belay device and chalk bag set:

https://www.gooutdoors.co.uk/15899450/climb-x-pilot-harness-and-belay-set-1...

Or spend a bit more, get a DMM Harness starter kit knowing it's good quality: