UKC

Beginner Questions - Mount Snowdon

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Kat93 24 Aug 2019

We (couple) are planning to walk up Snowdon via the Watkin path next week hopefully. I have been meaning to do this for years. I wanted to do crib goch but after realising that my heart will probably stop trying to do it, we have decided to go for a relatively safer path but with a bit of challenge too. I am a beginner if that’s not evident already 😊 I have been reading up on list of things to take. We will ideally go when there’s no rain forecast for Llanberis. But from what I have read that the peak could even have snow or rain in summer when you get up there (not sure how true this is). This is the list we have made of things we would need according to several websites:

Small rucksack

Suncream

Waterproof jacket/ Walking trousers

Gloves?

Map (Is there one available from any shop near the base or buy one from Amazon? Will one on a mobile be suitable?)

Whistle!?

Any advice on above.

Phil1919 24 Aug 2019
In reply to Kat93:

On the whole, as long as forecast is pretty good, just use your common sense and turn round and retrace your steps if things become too unpleasant.

GridNorth 24 Aug 2019
In reply to Kat93:

The popular tracks are motorways but if you are taking a map it might be worth taking a compass as well.  And learn how to use it of course. The difference between magnetic North and True North is negligible at the moment so using one is straightforward. I would also add a fleece or softshell.  Snow at this time of year is very, very unlikely but the temperature can drop dramatically as you ascend and rain is highly likely rather than merely possible. You will be able to buy a map in Llanberis.  A whistle is a good idea. The international emergency signal is 6 blasts. A torch is also recommended as is food and plenty of fluid.