UKC

Do I need to get fit first?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Removed User 08 Aug 2021

Hi everyone,

I am new to bouldering and indoor wall climbing.

I am lucky to have a great center near me and I have done introduction sessions and have just paid my first month's member fee.

I enjoyed the rope climbing when I did my introduction sessions, and bouldering less so because I found it more difficult.

I am not really unfit and I am a healthy weight, but it's fair to say that before this I have been living a relatively inactive and sedentary life, with a full time work from home desk job.

When I go to the center, I find that I get tired really easily and I just don't have the core strength or ab muscle to be able to get very far with the problems on the bouldering wall.

I understand that much of climbing is about patience, mental strength and being able to enjoy learning rather than focusing on what you can't do before you manage to do it, but when I go to the center and I can only do the very easiest of routes, I feel I become a bit demotivated and defeated.

I wonder if I need to spend some time getting a bit fitter and more flexible instead of frustrating myself further. I don't know though, maybe this is how most new starters feel and it's just part of it?

I'd really appreciate it if anyone has any advice either way - whether you think it is best to get fitter first (what would you recommend doing), or if you think I ought to just stick at it and I will improve eventually (if so, do you have any tips for a total novice?)

Looking forward to hearing from some of you - I can see that there are some great responses to other posts in this forum and despite my personal disappointment with my ability levels, climbing does make me excited to join such a helpful community.

Post edited at 23:40
 Toby Lee 09 Aug 2021
In reply to Removed Useramahoz: